## WHAT DO BIHARTEAN AND EURO 3 CONSIST OF?

EURO 3 and Bihartean are two EEIGs (European Economic Interest Groupings) created with the aim of promoting cross-border economic activities and the overall development of the cross-border territories.

The EURO 3 EEIG was created in 1991 by chambers of commerce in the French-Belgian cross-border region (Armentières-Hazebrouck, Kortrijk (Courtrai), Lille-Roubaix-Tourcoing, Mouscron, leper (Ypres) and Tournai) with the name EURO 6. As a result of the various mergers which took place between these chambers, the EEIG took the name of EURO 3 in 2007 and now includes the chambers of commerce of Greater Lille, West Flanders (VOKA), Wallonie Picarde, and the French-Belgian Chamber of Commerce of Northern France.

EURO 3 has the objective of providing a forum for the exchange of ideas, adopting common positions and the development of concrete proposals for cross-border economic issues concerning the development of businesses, and stands alongside the Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai Eurometropolis EGTC to provide services to SMEs.

A similar, but more recent structure, **Bihartean** has brought together the Bayonne-Pays Basque CCI (Chamber of Commerce and Industry) and the Cámara de Comercio de Gipuzkoa since 2010. Bihartean formalises the long-standing cooperation between the Basque chambers of commerce, which had to draw up agreements in order to carry out joint activities (trade fairs, economic promotion, etc.). **This EEIG aims at supporting businesses in their cross-border projects, developing joint economic activities and creating joint training provision.** 



French-Belgian cross-border meeting, Euro 3 project